Join the Village of Legends players community!
We talk about rules, creative stuff and new tech!

Have a question? Post a comment, I will reply as soon as possible sharing my wisdom with you.

Berserk tracking

What the numbers in the top left and top right of the Market board represent?

They let you track how many turns a Hero is in berserk.

Knife

Can I choose to not use the secondary ability of a weapon?

No, you can decide to not use that card by discarding it, however if you play a card all secondary abilities take effect immediately after using it.

When a weapon is played: first the dice is rolled to determine the damage done by adding the bonus (or malus) indicated at the bottom left of the card. After this phase any secondary effects, written on the card, are applied.
If the player is not able to apply the effect on the card in that moment, then the effect is ignored.

Example 1: If the player plays a card with a “Draw a card” effect and he has no more cards to draw (for example they are all in play) and no cards in the discard pile to shuffle, then this effect is ignored.
Example 2: If during a player’s turn the hammer is played last then the player has no more cards to eliminate and so this effect is ignored.
Example 3: If the player does not have access to the market during his turn then any market effects are ignored
Pro tip: play the hammer last if you don't want to eliminate any cards from your hand.

Giant Turt

Giant Turtle: how does it work?

This monster does not attack, he is the only defensive monster. He is placed in front of any player (probably your ally or yourself) and acts as a defence card until killed with 4 damage. The Hero with a Giant Turtle can access to the market. The damage and experience work like other monsters he is succeptible to wounds and players gain experience by killing him.

Imp

IMP: how does it work?

The Imp is a different monster because he attacks intelligence. Roll the Die and add 2, this is the total intelligence he takes away from the player he is attacking.

Beer

Can I drink more beer than I have intelligence, so can the dwarf drink three beers in one turn, giving him -1 intelligence total?

Yes he can, if additional beers has drunk during the berserk period, you gain also the 1LP but you have not to roll again the die again.

Time is near... get ready!

Scroll

If the dwarf drinks a beer, giving him -1 intelligence, can he still read a scroll?

Yes he can, only the heroes with INT starting point 1 cannot read any scrolls. Dwarf can buy them if he has 10 coins left, or just to steal the purchase from his mage opponent and use the concentration scroll to draw another card.

Pioggia di Meteore

Does damage from spells that hit more targets carry over? For example, if I have a monster with two health and I cast Earthquake, hitting all monsters and opponents for five damage, does left opponent take 5 or 5-2+3=8 damage?

No. In this case, only the damage must be inflicted to the single monsters and the damage done by 'Earthquake' or 'Meteor Shower' is not carried over to the owner, since the player is already directly attacked.

Double Axe

Is the Double Axe two attacks with one die, or a single attack with two dice?

Since Double Axe is a Heavy weapon, you can roll two dice in the same moment and inflict damage to: wandering monsters in front of you, your opponent's defences and your opponent LPs.

Magic Cloak

Armour that provides intelligence, is this only the turn they are played or is it every round they stay in play?

Each turn they are in play.

Are weapons discarded when played, or are they only discarded at the end of turn together with gold used to buy items?

All cards played from a player’s hand (money, weapons , spells, etc.) must remain on the table and will only be placed in the discarded pile only at the end of the turn. Purchased items go directly to the discard pile.

Flail

Do cards which make you discard cards from your hand (e.g. Axe or flail) make the owner of a monster discard cards or the player to the left?

The player on the left always discards when an axe is used, even if the monster/s are not his.

War Mug

Can players with no intelligence bonus left still drink from the War Mug?

Yes

Wolf

If I fail at my first attempt when trying to capture a tamable monster, can I try again on the same turn?

Yes you can try as many times as you want, since the money is spent only if you successfully capture the monster. Try again … at your own risk!

Wooden Shield

Can I use more than one shield or wall at the same time?

No, you can have a maximum of one shield and one wall equipped at any time.

Fireball and Lightning

Fireball and Lightning VS Ball Lightning

These magic cards can be used on any player or any monster, even those in front of other players. However Ball lightning must only be used against the player to the left (or the monsters in front of you first) because it follows the regular order of play for heavy weapons and attacking spells.

Can you play a mind control to take control of a monster when you don’t have access to the market?

No, like other cards related to the market you need to access to the market to be able to play it.

If you play sleep and have a monster in front of you can you instead attack the person to your left instead of the monster in front of you?

Yes, you can do whatever you want as long as it is sleeping.

  1. case88

    Ciao! io e i miei amici siamo interessati all’espansione Adhara, indicativamente quale sara’ la data di uscita? Altra cosa, ci piacerebbe durante le nostre partite avere un voglio eroe aggiornabile ma abbiamo notato che quello elettronico sul sito non funziona e rimanda alla pagina bug fixes, ci sarebbe magari un formato pdf stampabile su fogli A4 che si puo’ utilizzare? Grazie!

  2. case88

    Altra domanda, quando la carta avventura “lost the way” ti fa rimescolare tutte le carte avventura, la carta boss finale non va rimescolata e va lasciata in fondo, giusto? Grazie

    • Lore

      Se ti viene chiesto dalla carta “Lost the Way!” di rimescolare le carte avventura già affrontate, mescola anche la carta #0 Final Boss .

  3. case88

    Ciao! Scrivo anche qui la domanda che ho fatto su IG: nelle regole e’ scritto che dal mazzo principale van rimosse le carte creatura a bordo rosso, ma nel mazzo principale vanno anche le carte del gioco base giusto? Quindi dobbiamo anche rimuovere tutte le altre carte creatura standard dal mazzo? Grazie!

    • Lore

      Ciao, solo nella versione cooperativa bisogna rimuovere tutte le carte Mostro dal mazzo principale (vengono messe in gioco dalle carte avventura), sia quelle contenute nel gioco base, che quelle nelle espansioni che utilizzi.

  4. TheVillager

    Ciao Lorenzo, avrei alcune domande su delle meccaniche che non mi sono chiare:
    1) prendiamo una partita a 3 (A, B, C) tutti contro tutti: se A mette un mostro su B, A può attaccare il mostro? Se A mette un mostro su B, C può attaccare il mostro?
    2) Prendiamo il caso di A e B che si affrontano: A gioca un’arma come la “bardiche” con l’effetto secondario di “scarta una carta” a B; B avrà in mano 5 carte e ne scarterà una. Ma quando B inizierà il turno, ritrovandosi con 4 carte in mano, dovrà pescarne un’altra così da partire in quel turno con 5 carte o gioca il turno con le 4 rimaste?
    3) gli effetti secondari “scarta una carta” si riferiscono semplicemente alle carte in mano o è possibile scartare anche ad es. uno scudo equipaggiato sul terreno?
    4) è possibile vendere le monete iniziali così da snellire il mazzo?

    • Lore

      1) Con magie puoi attaccare qualsiasi bersaglio, eventuali danni in eccesso vanno sempre inflitti al giocatore di sinistra. Se A mette un mostro davanti a B/C non può attaccare quel mostro, ma può metterlo davanti a sè per guadagnare punti XP (rischiando però che se NON uccide il mostro questo rimane ad attaccarlo il turno seguente).
      2) Quando inizia il turno il giocatore B che ha dovuto scartare una o più carte come effetto secondario di un attacco ricevuto da ascia/berdica NON pesca altre carte, poiché pescare è l’ultima azione da fare durante il proprio turno prima di passare.
      3) Solo dalla mano
      4) Non puoi vendere le carte Moneta ma solo le carte con il costo all’interno di un cerchio Dorato

      grazie ciao!

  5. astaroth286

    Due domande.
    -Sto procedendo alla versione co-op in solitario, posso unire tutte le carte del set base con quelle di reaper’s hand?

    -È possibile unire anche quelle di ancient guild e the horde?

  6. astaroth286

    Ciao Lorenzo spero mi risponderai perchè ho acquistato il gioco con tutte le espansioni ed è stupendo ma sto avendo alcune difficoltà nella modalità campagna.
    1. Undead Wolf con l’abilità mount permette di avere un un altro mostro che lo cavalchi (esempio: skeletor sopra l’undead wolf). Quando mi attacca devo tirare un’unico dado sommando il risultato +2 e considerare l’attacco dello skeletor+wolf come uno solo oppure devo tirare un dado per lo skeletor sommando +2 e un altro dado per l’undead wolf sommando di nuovo +2?

  7. michele_baracchi

    Buongiorno, una domanda sull’effetto dell’Elven Flute. L’effetto consente di spostare un mostro su un altro giocatore, in questo caso bisogna effettuare un lancio di dado per il Taming+3 indicato dalla carta? Oppure é un effetto aggiuntivo del flauto che aiuta ad acquistare i mostri con taming nel mercato?
    Inoltre é consentito, con il flauto spostare il mostro Tartaruga? O avendo defensive viene considerato un Equip e non più mostro?
    Grazie in anticipo per le risposte!

    • Lore

      Ciao, puoi spostare qualsiasi mostro in gioco (anche la tartaruga) senza effettuare un tiro. +3 a taming fornisce un bonus aggiuntivo quando effettui il tentativo di addomesticare un mostro

  8. gabriele

    Buongiorno, avrei delle domande:

    – Alcune carte hanno +2 at wandering Monsters, che mostri sono?

    – Quando si uccidono dei mostri che lasciano del loot e i giocatori del gruppo party non riuscissero ad acquistare alcune carte loot, al momento della nuova carta avventura queste carte loot vengono rimosse. Ma per rimosse si intende che le carte non potranno mai più essere acquistate nel corso della campagna e quindi non più rimescolate nel mazzo principale?

    – Le carte avventura già affrontate in un capitolo, possono ripresentarsi in un capitolo successivo o vengono escluse?

    Grazie

    • Lore

      – Tutti i mostri sono Wandering Monsters
      – Le carte Loot non acquistate vengono rimosse dal gioco quando viene pescata una nuova carta avventura, ma tornano disponibili per i prossimi incontri (mini carte) oppure rimescolate nel mazzo principale a fine avventura.
      – Le carte avventura possono ripresentarsi nei capitoli successivi!

      Ciao!

  9. Alan Bergamo

    Una volta risolta la carta avventura viene scartata. Questo indica che non si useranno più quelle carte anche se dovesse riapparire la richiesta di usare quel numero di carta? Almeno finché non appare la carta #35 “lost the way!” (E simili) Che te le fa rimescolare?

    • Lore

      Ciao, no viene scartata fino alla fine dell’avventura; tieni le carte avventura scartate e risolte accanto al mazzo di questa avventura che stai esplorando. Quando l’avventura termina rimuovi dal gioco tutte le carte avventura risolte e scartate. Un’avventura termina quando tutte le carte Avventura indicate nel capitolo che stai giocando vengono risolte. La campagna The Reaper’s Hand comprende diverse avventure, ognuna formata da una diversa combinazione di carte avventura (con la porta sul retro).

  10. Thomas Driscoll

    Can a monster be played to attack another player when a monster is in front you?

    • Lore

      Yes!

  11. max25230

    Hello, in chapter 118 with sheet 118 B and D :
    – The player décide direction to move party token of 1 Space and guard mouvement roll?
    – what’s happened when guard move on party token and it was killing ? Guard mini card is removed ? Or still in play ?
    Thanks

    • Lore

      hello!
      – The die roll decides which direction the guard moves
      – When the guard is defeated flip that mini card and draw loot (1 Defence mini card) and continue the Adventure

  12. James Laessig

    Hello. I am hoping to have something clarified. In the base game, you have the ability to buy the top card of each deck-type in the Market (beer, potions, scrolls, etc.). However, in Reaper’s Hand, it doesn’t say to set the market up the same way as the base game, making me want to double-check to see if – during an Adventure – players can buy items from the general Market (like the base game allows) during their turns, or are the only cards they can buy the ones that they “encountered / rewarded / obtained” during the current Adventure deck? Thanks in advance.

    • Lore

      Wei James! Yes it is correct, in the co-op version players are able to buy only the cards gathered from Monsters (Loot cards) or to draw cards when instructed. The cards in the market during the adventure are always face down.

  13. Liticia

    What are the rules for attacking monsters not in front of your own hero?

  14. Swampfox01

    How do you “buy” loot cards that do not have a monetary value shown. For example, at the start of the game in the Adventure book it says to add one food loot card to the market. The food cards do not show a cost. How does one purchase the food card?

    • Lore

      Hey Swampfox01
      For Loot cards:
      Items found on mini cards don’t require playing any Money cards to be added to a player’s inventory, however cards dropped in an area can’t be collected while is a Monster in that area.
      https://www.pelotology.com/vol/rules/inventory-and-allies.html

      For “Draw a X card
      When instructed to draw one or more cards, draw the required card from the indicated deck.
      The party can choose one player to shuffle that card into their deck.
      (eg: • Draw 1 Nuggets, Draw 1 Potion card).
      If the indicated card is not available, no further card is drawn. After doing this, remove the remaining cards and shuffle each deck from which you have drawn at least 1 card.
      https://www.pelotology.com/reapershand/fast-rules.html#rewards

  15. Miguel

    Thank you very much, Lore. I’ll try to match the cards with your repository for try to know if it’s an incident with my cards or just with the descriptión in the box/rules.

  16. Miguel

    Hi! I guess you are going to update “Could you provide a detailed card list?” question with the detailed card list from Reaper’s Hand, right? I’m having problems matching the standard card list with the real stardand cards in my box.
    Thanks you too much.
    Best regards.

    • Lore

      Hello Miguel, Reaper’s Hand standard cards are 71.
      • 62 cards (market cards + main deck)
      + 2 counter cards
      + 7 special cards (3 Fire Dragon, 3 Bone Dragon, 3 Wyvern).
      The back of the box should say 71 cards, but we didn’t find it fair to include the 2 counter cards (:

  17. Lore

    ***NEW ADVENTURE***
    1) Draw 5 cards from your deck
    2) Play Defence cards out of hand
    3) Flip a new Adventure card
    4) Place Monsters (if any)
    5) Turns of combat and buy loot cards (if no monster in front of the player)
    6) End the encounter (up to 1 turn of loot per player after the last monster has been defeated, or whenever a player wants, even before)
    7) Clean the table, unclaimed loot and defeated monsters
    7) Draw a new adventure card –> back to 4)
    read more at:
    https://www.pelotology.com/reapershand/fast-rules.html

  18. Jose Cortes

    I would like to have a clear flow for the battles and after the looting system. From what I have seen in videos and in the rules, this looks like:
    – Flip the dungeon card
    – Add monsters based on the dungeon card
    – Draw 5 cards from your deck
    – Play any defense cards
    – Monster attacks
    – Play cards to attack monsters
    – Discard hand and played cards
    – Draw 5 cards
    – Monster attacks ….

    – Monsters defeated. With the cards I have in my hand the turn the monsters are defeated, I buy the loot.
    – Clean the table, unclaimed look and defeated monsters
    – Flip the next dungeon card

    Is that accurate?

  19. Jose Cortes

    What would be your recommendation to play “one-offs” or a “generic dungeon delve”? In case I don’t want to fully follow the story and just have a quick dungeon walk. 🙂

  20. Polyphemus

    thanks

  21. Lore

    Please submit your questions and comments here so everyone can participate (=

33 Responses

Leave a Reply